I admit that early on I was torn between Obama and Clinton, I liked both candidates but as the campaigns really got moving the Clinton campaign lost me as a possible supporter. 

Candidates go after each other and I’ve come to expect that what offended me was the way the Clinton campaign was using the countries deep-rooted sense of racism against Obama. It was initially speculative, a needling sense that left me uneasy but when the photos of Obama in a turban surfaced and they were traced back to the Clinton camp my nagging sense was fully realized. (I wonder if a picture of Clinton in a sombrero could be used to determine her position on immigrations and border security?)

Since then we have heard Geraldine Ferraro diminish the Obama campaign by attributing his success to the color of his skin and we have watched as the Clinton camp continues to try use racism to win the DFL endorsement.

When Ferrarro made her first run for the white house I was proud but today if I were to cast a vote exclusively on race it would be for the human race, if I were to vote exclusively on gender it would be for Spitzers brave wife and if I were to vote for a man he would have to be a good man. Eight years of George Bush makes Barrack Obama look like a refreshing  glass of water.

Americans want change not the estrogen equivalent of unethical politics as usual.

I don’t support Obama because he’s a black man, I support Obama because I think he might be a good man.

 Ferraro, shut up and apologize.

Clinton, denounce Ferraro.

Obama, publicly call them on the carpet. You’re not playing the race card, they are.

A special thanks to Keith Olbermann for his spectacular rant on Clinton’s tepid response, I couldn’t have said it better myself.

“Any time anybody does anything that in any way pulls this campaign down and says let’s address reality and the problems we’re facing in this world, you’re accused of being racist, so you have to shut up.
“Racism works in two different directions. I really think they’re attacking me because I’m white.
“How’s that?”
Geraldine Ferraro
