Periodically, when  I hear bad news about the stock market I Google the name of my Mother in Law’s nephew, Michael Binger. Michael is portfolio manager for Thrivent Financial  in Minneapolis. When he’s interviewed he offers sound investment advise and I pay attention not because I  have any investments, honestly I’m afraid of my checkbook, I gather the information  then follow its success just in case I get brave. Among his long list of sound decisions, he invested in Apple before most of us knew Apple would rebound and rock the digital data universe. Since he’s proficient at what he does I thought I’d pass his advise along to the Fish Wrap regulars.

As it would happen, the day I Googled his name Reuter had just published an article that included a brief conversation with him. Here is that experpt:

Mike Binger, portfolio manager at Thrivent Financial in Minneapolis, said, “I think the combination of the big rate cut, the stimulus package and some good corporate earnings are kind of proving to people we’re not falling off a cliff.”

Binger expects continued market volatility, but he thinks financial stocks and technology issues could be bought on the dips. He thinks retailers, another beaten-up sector, may also be worth buying on declines.

I also found a clip from an MSNBC interview at Mall of America where he offer tips to investors who are “shopping for profits.”

Wearing Fuzzy Slippers,

Olive Rockfish

Additional information: Conversations with Reuter

