I read an article in the October 21, 2007 edition of the Morrison County Record that left me uneasy. The article didn’t identify any writer, but on page 24 the headline read “Morrison County Citizens Concerned for Life conduct fall tour.”With a headline like that I was naturally curious as to what abortion abolitionists tour. As it turned out citizens weren’t brought on a pro-life tour, the MCCL was making pit stops throughout Minnesota. Hence the answer to my initial question, and a small sigh of relief.

But something struck me as I skimmed the article,  it was the wording of the article.  It read like an opinion page article instead of a news report.  Two paragraphs began with: They explained how the 1973 Roe vs. Wade and Doe vs. Bolton U.S. Supreme Court decision legalized abortion..They showed how abortion increases when Planned Parenthood comes to town…”

The language lacked the expected objectivity by identifying whose viewpoint the story was representing, such as: according to the pro-life organization, abortions increase when…

I wondered if the MCCL was submitting their own stories. I wonder if the record has ever given space or written about Planned Parenthood and its events.

While were on the subject, why are all the babies on pro-life posters and ads always white?

Drowsy,

Brooke Trout

